Promoting the knowledge of excellent dentistry JOIN

About the Royal Odonto-Chirurgical Society of Scotland

Welcome to the website of the Royal Odonto-Chirurgical Society of Scotland.

I am delighted and honoured to have been invited to be President of the Royal Odonto-Chirurgical Society of Scotland for this coming year. Founded in 1867, it is the oldest dental society in the United Kingdom, if not the world, still actively functioning under its original title (the use of the title “Royal” was granted in November 1966) and upholding the original objectives: “The promotion and diffusion of knowledge in matters connected with Dental Science and Practice, and the advancement of Dentistry as a branch of Medicine and Surgery”.

Rocss logoDentistry in Scotland in the 1860s was often an unpleasant and fraught experience for the public, and the “Odonto” was formed in an endeavour to raise standards and having celebrated our 150th anniversary last year the Society continues to provide a valuable forum for our profession.

Our Society continues to flourish with an increasing number of new members and attendance at meetings, helped enormously by the hard work of the committee and in the redevelopment of the website. I think the Society provides the perfect mix of educational lectures along with a great sense of fellowship and a chance to keep in touch with colleagues and friends both old and new.

Membership of the “Odonto” is open to all dentists: newly qualified, currently practising, retired, from all fields of practice and most parts of Scotland (and several from beyond). If you have never been to an “Odonto” meeting before, please come along to see what it’s like. If you already a member, please bring along guests, including other dental team members.

Charlie MaranThis season consist of 6 meetings covering a wide range of topics from Management of Hypotonia, Digital Dentistry, Endodontics and Contemporary Surgical Techniques.
The meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month between October and March. The venue is the Royal college of Surgeons of Edinburgh with the exception of our regional meeting which opens the season in October at Dundee Dental School. The meetings start at 7.30pm but members and guest are encouraged to arrive at 7pm for social pre lecture drinks


I very much look forward to welcoming you to the next ROCSS meeting

Charlie Maran

President 2019-2020


Office-Bearers for 2019 – 2020


President Charles Maran
Past President Karen Gordon
Senior Vice-President Fraser Morrison
Junior Vice-President Robbie Lawson
Honorary Treasurer Colin Chambers
Honorary Secretary Agnieszka Nohawica



Judy Wheble
Susan Baines
Miguel Cardoso
Marialena Cresta
Eleni Besi
Katharine Dunn
Jacqueline Fraser
Stuart Campbell